This page was last modified on Tuesday, October 03, 2006                                                                                  www.yaac-bsa.org
about uscampingcalendarresourcestrainingprogramsactivitiesnewsletterscout shopdevelopment

Programs What Is Cub Scouting?

Cub Scouting

Cub Scout EmblemThe Boy Scouts of America, founded in 1910, provides an effective educational program for boys and young adults, designed to

  • Build moral strength and character

  • Encourage fitness

  • Prepare boys for the responsibilities of citizenship

Robert Baden Powell, the founder of Boy Scouting, said that "Scouting is a game with a purpose." The game is our fun and exciting program, but the purpose is to prepare boys to become better adults.

Purposes of Cub Scouting

Boys, families, leaders, and chartered organizations work together to achieve

  • Character development

  • Spiritual Growth

  • Good citizenship

  • Sportsmanship

  • Family understanding

  • Respectful relationships

  • Personal achievement

  • Friendly service

  • Fun and adventure

  • Preparation for Boy Scouts

The Ideals of Cub Scouting

We achieve these purposes by teaching the ideals of Cub Scouting, which are represented by the Cub Scout Promise, Law, and motto.

Cub Scout Promise

I, (your name), promise
to do my best,
to do my duty,
to God and my country,
to help other people
and to obey the Law of the Pack.

Law of the Pack

The Cub Scout follows Akela,
The Cub Scout helps the pack go,
The pack helps the Cub Scout grow,
The Cub Scout gives goodwill.

Cub Scout Motto

Do your best!

Cub Scouting is for Boys From First Through Fifth Grade

Tiger Cubs are boys in the first grade or 7 years old. They join with an adult partner. All of the adult partners share in the leadership of the Tiger Cub den, with the guidance and support of the Tiger Cub den leader.

Cub ScoutsCub Scouts are boys in second and third grades or 8 to 9 years old who work on their Wolf or Bear badges. They meet weekly in a Cub Scout den under the leadership of a Cub Scout den leader and assistant. Click here for more information about Cub Scouts.

Webelos Scouts are boys in fourth and fifth grades or 10 years old. They meet weekly in a Webelos den under the leadership of a Webelos den leader and assistant. Click here for more information about Webelos Scouts.

The Pack Meeting

All of the dens and their families get together monthly for a pack meeting, led by the Cubmaster and assistants with the support of the one or more Assistant Cubmasters and the pack committee.

The pack meeting is an opportunity to recognize advancement and achievements of boys and leaders.

It gives the boys a chance to "show off" things they have learned during the month.

Pack meeting activities are planned around a monthly theme and the Webelos activity badges for the month. Pack meetings are fun for the whole family.

You will find more information on pack meetings in the Cub Scout Leader Book.

Advancement and Recognition

Tiger Cubs receive recognition for their participation in the various activities of their den and also with their adult partner and family. Tiger Cubs first earn the Tiger Cub badge, then the Bobcat badge.

Cub Scouts and Webelos Scouts have a plan of advancement in which a boy learns by doing. All boys, regardless of the age at which they joined Cub Scouts, earn the Bobcat badge first. After receiving the Bobcat badge, the boy works on requirements based on his grade or age. Parent involvement is a vital part of the advancement plan for Cub Scouts.

A Cub Scout who is in the second grade (or 8 years old) works on 12 achievements in the Wolf Cub Scout book to earn the Wolf badge.


A Cub Scout who is in the third grade (or 9 years old) completes 12 of 24 achievements in the Bear Cub Scout Book to earn the Bear badge.


After earning the Wolf or Bear badge, the Cub Scout can earn arrow points by completing electives in his book.

Most Wolf and Bear advancement achievements are completed at home with the assistance of the Cub Scout's family. Parents approve the completion of the achievements.

A Webelos Scout works on requirements for the Webelos activity badges in his Webelos den meetings. Completion is approved by the Webelos den leader.

These badges are part of the requirements for the Webelos badge and the Arrow of Light, which prepare him to join Boy Scouting.

Remember that after earning the Bobcat badge, the boy works on the rank appropriate for his age. If he joins in the third grade, he works on Bear and does not earn the Wolf badge.



Supported by donations from Shamiro and WeddenOp

   2007, York-Adams Area Council                                                                                        2139 White Street, York, PA 17404
   All rights reserved                                                                                            

                                                                                  Home Contacts Privacy Statement Site Map Questions/Comments

This site is optimized for viewing using Internet Explorer 5+